The ITIL Service Design Certificate is a free- standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL intermediate lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management.

The course covers the management-level concepts and core information of the supporting activities within service design, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes. It includes the following topics:

  • Introduction to service design
  • Service design principles
  • Service design processes and integation with other ITIL processes
  • Organizing for service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing service design
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks
Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2011. Material is reproduced under licence from AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
The ITIL Accredited Training Organization logo is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.


The target group of the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Design Certificate include, but are not restricted to:

  • Business managers and executives
  • Business consultants
  • Business process owners, program and project managers
  • IT executives and managers
  • IT consultants, IT assessors, auditors and risk managers
  • IT process owners

This course provides a view of service design and focuses on tactical planning activities to ensure the effective introduction and management of services. Service design ensures that proper integrated designs are handed over to service transition for development and implementation and that customer needs and possible risks were considered during the design lifecycle.

Candidates can expect to gain competencies that will help them to better manage and plan for the delivery of IT services and related activities.

Day 1

  • An introduction to Service Design
  • Service Design principles
  • The design coordination process

Day 2

  • The service catalogue process
  • The service level management process
  • The supplier management process
  • Availability management
  • Capacity management
  • IT continuity management
  • Information security management
  • Managing risk

Day 3

  • Organising service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing service design
  • Challenges, risks and CSFs

The formal course is based on a set of lectures supported by slides, student handbooks, exercises and sample examination questions. This course consists of student manuals that expand on the topics covered in the lectures. Students should use this material to prepare for the exam.

To be eligible for the examination leading to the ITIL Service Design Certificate, the candidate must fulfil the following requirements:

  • Have undertaken at least 24 contact hours approved training.
  • Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management.
  • Have at least 2 years’ professional experience working in IT service management.
  • Completed a minimum 12 hours of personal study by reviewing the course material provided.
  • It is recommended that candidates have experience of working in the service management capacity within a service provider environment, with responsibility for at least one of the Service Design processes outlined above.
  • A maximum of 16 participants will be allowed to attend a classroom course.

The courses do not by default include the exam, the exam can be booked with the course or separately at a later stage.

The exam consists of 8 multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer-options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.

Duration: Maximum 90 minutes for candidates in their home language (if available – 120 minutes if the paper is in your second language. The use of a dictionary will be allowed).