ITIL® Managing Across the Lifecycle

The ITIL Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate is the capstone qualification that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management.The course covers the management-level concepts and core information for the integration of all the ITIL Service Lifecycles, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes. It includes the following topics:

  • managing strategic change
  • managing risk
  • managing the implementation of service management
  • understanding organisational challenges
  • doing service assessments
  • understanding complementary industry guidance
  • Service management tools and strategies
green Foun
Copyright © AXELOS Limited 2011. Material is reproduced under licence from AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The ITIL Accredited Training Organization logo is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The target group of the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Managing Across the Lifecycle Certificate (MALC) include, but are not restricted to:

  • Business managers, process owners, consultants, project managers and executives
  • IT executives and managers
  • IT consultants, IT assessors, auditors and risk managers
  • IT process owners

MALC gives candidates the skills to support and organization’s service delivery by bridging the service lifecycle stages and helping them to form a single view of service management end-to-end.

Day 1

  • Managing strategic change

Day 2

  • Managing risk
  • Planning end-to-end service management

Day 3

  • Managing the implementation of service management
  • Understanding organizational challenges

Day 4

  • Doing service assessments
  • Understanding complementary industry guidance

Day 5

  • Service management tools and tool strategies
  • Exam preparation and review

The formal course is based on a set of lectures supported by slides, student handbooks, exercises and sample examination questions. This course consists of student manuals that expand on the topics covered in the lectures. Students should use this material to prepare for the exam.

To be eligible for the examination leading to the ITIL MALC certificate, the candidate must fulfil the following requirements:

  • Have undertaken at least 30 contact hours approved training.
  • Hold 17 appropriately recognised credits in the ITIL certification scheme (you cant claim credits for instance for both OSA and SO as they deal with the same subject matter)
  • Have at least 4 years’ professional experience working in IT service management.
  • Completed a minimum 12 hours of personal study by reviewing the course material provided.
  • It is recommended that candidates have experience of working in the service management capacity within a service provider environment, with responsibility for at least one of the service management processes.
  • A maximum of 16 participants will be allowed to attend a classroom course.

The course do not by default include the exam, the exam can be booked with the course or separately at a later stage.

The exam consists of 8 multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.

Duration: Maximum 90 minutes for candidates in their home language (if available – 120 minutes if the paper is in your second language. The use of a dictionary will be allowed).